THIS DOCUMENT IS THE PROPERTY

OF THE GOVERNMENT OF ANGUILLA

Copy No:

MINUTES OF THE 223RD MEETING OF THE ELEVENTH ANGUILLA EXECUTIVE COUNCIL HELD ON THURSDAY 5TH MARCH 2020 <u>AT 9:00 AM</u>

PRESENT:	His Excellency The Governor (acting), Mr Perin Bradley		
	The Honourable Premier and Minister of Finance, Economic Development, Commerce, Tourism and Information Technology, Mr Victor Banks		
	The Honourable Deputy Governor (acting), Mrs Bonnie Richardson-Lake		
	The Honourable Minister of Health and Social Development, Lands and Physical Planning, Mr Evans Rogers		
	The Honourable Minister of Home Affairs and Education, Mrs Cora Richardson- Hodge		
	The Honourable Minister of Infrastructure, Communications, Utilities, Housing, Agriculture, Fisheries and Environment, Mr Curtis Richardson		
	The Honourable Attorney General, Mr Dwight Horsford		
	Clerk to Executive Council, Mrs Jewelle Fleming, MBE		
IN ATTENDANCE:	Hon Parliamentary Secretary, Mr Cardigan Connor Ministerial Assistant to the Hon Minister, MHA, Mrs Evalie Bradley Financial Specialist, Mr Stephen Turnbull PS, Economic Development, Investment & Commerce, Mr Larry Franklin Trade and Investment Officer, Mr Khari Goddard PS, Home Affairs & Education, Mrs Chanelle Petty Barrett		
ABSENT:	His Excellency The Governor, Mr Timothy Foy, OBE		
EX MIN 20/82	CONFIRMATION OF THE MINUTES		
	Hon Parliamentary Secretary, Ministerial Assistant to the Hon Minister, MHA and Financial Specialist remained.		
	Council confirmed the Minutes of a Special Meeting held on Wednesday 26 February 2020 and the Minutes of the 222 nd Meeting held on Thursday 27 February 2020.		

MATTERS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

EX MIN 20/83 ELECTION PETITION RULES, 2020 (DRAFT)

Hon Parliamentary Secretary, Ministerial Assistant to the Hon Minister, MHA and Financial Specialist remained.

Following on from EX MIN 20/75 of 27 February, the Hon Attorney General informed Council that the document would be submitted to Executive Council on Thursday 12 March for consideration.

Action: PS, MHA/ED; HON AG; PC; SOE; MINS OF GOV'T

EX MIN 20/84 EX MEM 20/49 TO CONSIDER AND APPROVE THE SPECIAL ECONOMIC ZONE ACT, 2020

Hon Parliamentary Secretary, Ministerial Assistant to the Hon Minister, MHA and Financial Specialist remained. The following persons joined:

PS, Economic Development, Investment & Commerce, Mr Larry Franklin Trade and Investment Officer, Mr Khari Goddard

Council:

- (i) approved the Bill for the Special Economic Zone Act, 2020; and
- (ii) agreed that the Bill should be tabled before the House of Assembly at its next sitting for first reading.

Action: PS, EDICTIT; HON AG; CL, HOA; PS, FIN; TIO; PAS, FIN; COC; MINS OF GOV'T

ORAL MENTION

EX MIN 20/86 ALHCS REDEVELOPMENT PROJECT

Hon Parliamentary Secretary, Ministerial Assistant to the Hon Minister, MHA and Financial Specialist remained. PS, Home Affairs & Education, Mrs Chanelle Petty Barrett joined.

Further to EX MIN 20/41 of 30 January, Council:

(i) noted the current position regarding the ALHCS redevelopment project as indicated:

Current allocation - US\$24,890,000

Cost of packages 1, 2 and 3	-	US\$20,875,774
Repairs to Campus B	-	US\$247,000
Consultant Fees	-	US\$948,620

Total committed to date	-	US\$22,071,394
Amount available for package 4	-	US\$2, 818,606

(ii) agreed that the following components of package 4 should proceed:

Estimated total for part of package 4	-	US\$2,331,425
Minor road works	-	US\$53,000
Preliminaries, insurance, contingencies	-	US\$400,000
Science Block	-	US\$1,878,425 (estimated)

(iii) noted and agreed that temporary water and electricity connections would have to be added to the sum of US\$2,331,425.

Council authorised the issue of the action sheet before confirmation of the minutes.

Action: PS, MHA/ED; PS, MICUHAFE; APM; CPO; BD; MINS OF GOV'T