THIS DOCUMENT IS THE PROPERTY

OF THE GOVERNMENT OF ANGUILLA

Copy No:

MINUTES OF THE 202ND MEETING OF THE ELEVENTH ANGUILLA EXECUTIVE COUNCIL HELD ON THURSDAY 12TH SEPTEMBER 2019 AT 9:00 AM

PRESENT: His Excellency The Governor, Mr Timothy Foy, OBE

The Honourable Premier and Minister of Finance, Economic Development, Commerce, Tourism and Information Technology, Mr Victor Banks

The Honourable Deputy Governor, Mr Perin Bradley

The Honourable Minister of Home Affairs and Education, Mrs Cora Richardson-Hodge

The Honourable Minister of Infrastructure, Communications, Utilities, Housing, Agriculture, Fisheries and Environment, Mr Curtis Richardson

The Honourable Attorney General, Mr Dwight Horsford

Clerk to Executive Council, Mrs Jewelle Fleming, MBE

IN ATTENDANCE: Hon Parliamentary Secretary, Mr Cardigan Connor

Ministerial Assistant to the Hon Minister, MHA, Mrs Evalie Bradley

Financial Specialist, Mr Stephen Turnbull

PS, EDICTIT, Mr Larry Franklin

Director, Anguilla Financial Services Commission, Ms Tina Bryan

Deputy Director, Anguilla Financial Services Commission, Ms Simone Martin

Compliance Manager, Ms Marisa Harding-Hodge

Budget Director, Mrs Shona Proctor

Director, Economic Planning, Mrs Shantelle Richardson

Economist, Ms Amber Woodley

ABSENT: The Honourable Minister of Health and Social Development, Lands and Physical

Planning, Mr Evans Rogers

EX MIN 19/427 **CONFIRMATION OF THE MINUTES**

Hon Parliamentary Secretary, Ministerial Assistant to the Hon Minister, MHA and

Financial Specialist remained.

Council confirmed the Minutes of the 201st Meeting held on Thursday 5 September

2019.

MATTERS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

EX MIN 19/430

EX MEM 19/210 PROPOSED LEGISLATIVE REFORM FOR THE COMPANIES REGIME, TRUST AND CORPORATE SERVICES PROVIDERS, PRIVATE BANKING, WEALTH MANAGEMENT AND TRUST BUSINESS

Hon Parliamentary Secretary, Ministerial Assistant to the Hon Minister, MHA and Financial Specialist remained. The following persons joined:

PS, EDICTIT, Mr Larry Franklin

Director, Anguilla Financial Services Commission, Ms Tina Bryan Deputy Director, Anguilla Financial Services Commission, Ms Simone Martin Compliance Manager, Ms Marisa Harding-Hodge

Council:

- (i) endorsed the proposed legislative reform for the Companies Regime, Trust and Corporate Services Providers, Private Banking, Wealth Management and Trust Business. This includes amendments to the Companies Act, R.S.A. c. C65, International Business Companies Act, R.S.A. c. I20, Company Management Act, R.S.A. c. C75, Trust Companies and Offshore Banking Act, R.S.A. c. T60 and the Trusts Act, R.S.A. c. T70; and
- (ii) requested officials to work closely with the Attorney General's Chambers in taking this work forward.

Action: PS, EDICTIT; PS, FIN; DIR, FSC; DEP DIR, FSC; HON AG; COM MAN; MINS OF GOV'T

EX MIN 19/431

EX MEM 19/211 APPLICATION FOR DUTY EXEMPTION BY TERONE HODGE-CARTY

Hon Parliamentary Secretary, Ministerial Assistant to the Hon Minister, MHA and Financial Specialist remained.

Council:

- (i) agreed that duty exemption should be granted to Mr Terone Hodge-Carty for the importation of a 2015 Nissan Leaf, an electric powered vehicle;
- (ii) noted that the customs administrative fee of 5% would still be due and payable; and
- (iii) noted the duty loss to the Government of Anguilla of EC\$8,429.52.

Council asked the PS, EDICTIT to develop a policy on electric and hybrid vehicles for Council to consider before the end of the year.

Action: PS, EDICTIT; PS, FIN; PAS, FIN; COC; FO

EX MIN 19/433 EX MEM 19/213 2018 - 2020 MEDIUM TERM ECONOMIC AND FISCAL PLAN (MTEFP) – ESTIMATES UPDATE

Hon Parliamentary Secretary, Ministerial Assistant to the Hon Minister, MHA and Financial Specialist remained. The following persons joined:

Budget Director, Mrs Shona Proctor Director, Economic Planning, Mrs Shantelle Richardson Economist, Ms Amber Woodley

Council reviewed and agreed that the MTEFP Fiscal Team should update the figures and report back to Executive Council for further consideration.

Action: PS, FIN; PS, EDICTIT; PAS, FIN; BD; DEP; ACC GEN; MINS OF GOV'T

EX MIN 19/434 EX MEM 19/214 APPOINTMENT OF BOARD MEMBERS TO THE ANGUILLA AIR AND SEA PORTS AUTHORITY

Hon Parliamentary Secretary, Ministerial Assistant to the Hon Minister, MHA and Financial Specialist remained.

Council:

(i) approved the re-appointment of the following AASPA Board members for the terms as outlined below:

Name	Position	Date of Appointment	Term End
Hubert Gumbs	Member	02-Sep-17	30-July 2020
Simone Connor	Member	16-Jul-17	30 July 2020
Cara Connor	Member	16-Jul-17	30-July 2020
Joseph Gumbs	Member	16-Jul-17	31 December 2019
Edward Connor	Member	15-Jun-17	31 December 2019
Karl Woodley	Member	15-Jun-17	31 December 2019

(ii) agreed that AASPA must inform the MICUHAFE three (3) months in advance of the expiry of any and all AASPA Board members. The appointments above must be made in accordance with the Anguilla Air and Sea Ports Authority Act.

Council authorised the issue of the action sheet before confirmation of the minutes.

Action: PS, MICUHAFE; CEO, AASPA (acting); CHAIR, AASPA; SOP; MINS OF GOV'T

EX MIN 19/435 PRIORITISATION OF ANGUILLA PROGRAMME PROJECTS

Hon Parliamentary Secretary, Ministerial Assistant to the Hon Minister, MHA and

Financial Specialist remained.

Council:

- (i) noted the prioritisation of the Anguilla Programme Projects and the financial position; and
- (ii) agreed that the matter be brought back to Executive Council on Thursday 26 September for discussion.

Action: PS, MHA/ED; PS, FIN; PS, EDICTIT; BD; APM; CPO; MINS OF GOV'T
